Home > Archive > Xbox forum > March 2006 > Free XBOX 360 Console Can It Be For Real





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Free XBOX 360 Console Can It Be For Real
THEREALBIGG187

2006-03-03, 2:33 am

Yo all I recently came across the following website
http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783
it claims if you sign up for one of the decent offers and get 10 friends to
do the same they
will send you a free Xbox 360 I was just wondering if anyone has done this
yet and if its
For real would be sweet if is check it out let me know.
http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783

Peace Out
THEREALBIGG187


Adam

2006-03-03, 2:33 am

I came across this other website, it basicly says - Nothing in life is for
free, theres always a catch.....



"THEREALBIGG187" <garyhill@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote in message
news:gyQNf.29250$wl.10358@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk...
quote:

> Yo all I recently came across the following website
> http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783
> it claims if you sign up for one of the decent offers and get 10 friends

to
quote:

> do the same they
> will send you a free Xbox 360 I was just wondering if anyone has done this
> yet and if its
> For real would be sweet if is check it out let me know.
> http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783
>
> Peace Out
> THEREALBIGG187
>
>



THEREALBIGG187

2006-03-03, 7:36 pm

It does seem bit too good to be true doesn't it but I reckon if it is true
they must be getting paid from the website you and your referrals sign up
for iv only noticed on eBay and few other places saying its for real but
that's no guarantee is it?
Peace Out!
THEREALBIGG187

"Adam" <nospam@foryou.com.au> wrote in message
news:%23WM41soPGHA.4220@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
quote:

>I came across this other website, it basicly says - Nothing in life is for
> free, theres always a catch.....
>
>
>
> "THEREALBIGG187" <garyhill@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:gyQNf.29250$wl.10358@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk...
> to
>
>



Doug Jacobs

2006-03-03, 11:34 pm

THEREALBIGG187 <garyhill@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote:
quote:

> It does seem bit too good to be true doesn't it but I reckon if it is true
> they must be getting paid from the website you and your referrals sign up
> for iv only noticed on eBay and few other places saying its for real but
> that's no guarantee is it?


You know the sayings - if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is,
and there ain't no such thing as a free lunch.

The majority of these "free...." sites are bogus. For every person who
claims to have gotten something from them are 1000s of complaints from
people who claim the site never delivered on their promised presents.

First off, they make you sign up for 1 to 5 "free" offers.
Catch 1: Many of these "free" offers require you to remain a member beyond
the free trial period, meaning you may incur fees, or be forced to buy
something. My favorite was the "free" credit card that required you to
make 2 purchases for it to count. Doesn't sound so bad until you read the
fine print on the credit card application where it mentions that the card
carries a $80 membership fee, so even if you make your 2 purhcases and pay
them off in full, you still have to pay the credit card company $80 just for
the honor of using their credit card!

Catch 2: By signing up for these offers, you are providing a large amount
of personal data about yourself - including your email address, phone
number(s) and home address. In short, prepare to be spammed. Marketing
contacts with demographic data can fetch quite a nice price...

Catch 3: Most of these websites are so poorly designed (INTENTIONALLY!) so
that you have problems discerning which are the offers you have to fill
out, versus any number of "optional" offers. Of course, if you don't fill
out the right offers, you haven't completed the program according to the
rules, and your entry is invalid - although they won't tell you that...
They'll just make you start over.

Next, you now have to convince 3 to 7 of "friends" to sign up for these
same offers.
Catch 1: This is a pyramid scheme. Pyramid schemes are illegal because
the vast majority of the participants will never see any benefits. Don't
believe me? Say your program requires 3 sign-ups to get you your free
present. This means that 4 people sign up, yet only 1 gets the prize.
1/4 isn't very good. Say those 3 friends want to get their presents, so
they each get 3 separate people. Now you have 13 people (1 + 3 + 9) yet
only 4 people got their present. Carry this along for awhile and you'll
soon start seeing that it requires more people than live in your state's
capital...then more people than live in your state... In short, the
scheme's going to run out of people, and by then, the vast majority will
never get their present.

Of course, this assumes that everyone signs up in the most efficient
manner. Say you ask your friend to sign up for you, but he's already
signed up on his own. Now there are 2 pyramids. Also, ask yourself this
- what's the benefit of signing up underneath someone? None. So, why
should someone sign up under you if they get the exact same benefits
(none) from signing up with the site directly?

Catch 2: For a referral to count for you, the person has to pass through
the same confusing sign-up process you supposedly completed. Any mistakes
on your friends' part, and you won't get the credit.

Finally, there's the site's rules themselves. You'll notice they
basically say there is no guarantee that they'll honor their rules, or
that they won't just randomly decide your account is invalid. You'll notice
that they all forbid spamming - yet most morons decide to spam anyways.
Not that the site cares if you spam or not. If you do spam, they'll
cancel your account, and any suckers who decided to follow your link will
be urged to sign up just the same. Less "free" prizes for them to give
out, and each sucker creates a new pyramid, therefor making it harder for
people to actually win anything.

Of course, your ISP/mail provider(s) aren't so forgiving... So you gotta
ask yourself - is it really worth losing your mail account and maybe even
your internet access to *maybe* get a free present based on the whims of a
questionable website?

As for the website itself, each of the offers you complete nets the
website as much as $90. That's not counting the nice set of personal data
each applicant gives the website. Each contact can be sold to other
marketers for as much as $10 each. Sure you could use a fake or temporary
email address, but I doubt you're going to be as willing to get a new phone
number or home mailing address. Also, consider that based on the rules
you agreed to, anyone who buys your information is considered to have a
"business relationship", meaning the national Do-Not-Call list does not
apply. Hope you love telemarketters!
Bob

2006-03-04, 7:34 pm

Sure! Sign up. Everyone needs an education.

"THEREALBIGG187" <garyhill@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote in message
news:gyQNf.29250$wl.10358@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk...
quote:

> Yo all I recently came across the following website
> http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783
> it claims if you sign up for one of the decent offers and get 10
> friends to
> do the same they
> will send you a free Xbox 360 I was just wondering if anyone has
> done this
> yet and if its
> For real would be sweet if is check it out let me know.
> http://xbox360s.freepay.com/?r=28039783
>
> Peace Out
> THEREALBIGG187
>
>


ShaggyDog05@gmail.com

2006-03-05, 7:42 pm

Sure sign up, then you and your friends' mailboxes will be filled with
junk mail before a month has passed I gurantee it, there is a saying
and that is 'If it looks To Good To Be True then it probably isnt'.

This is just a marketing scam like the millions of others out there.

THEREALBIGG187

2006-03-12, 6:41 am

Cheers for the feedback people.

--
Kindest Regards
THEREALBIGG187
For Cheap CD & DVD Backups Check Out:
http://free.hostdepartment.com/T/TH...IGG187/new.html

<ShaggyDog05@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1141577036.805479.58660@e56g2000cwe.googlegroups.com...
quote:

> Sure sign up, then you and your friends' mailboxes will be filled with
> junk mail before a month has passed I gurantee it, there is a saying
> and that is 'If it looks To Good To Be True then it probably isnt'.
>
> This is just a marketing scam like the millions of others out there.
>



Copyright 2003 - 2008 gamesreviews.net Software forum  PC Hardware reviews