Home > Archive > Chinese chess > August 2005 > Re: FIDE website down?





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Re: FIDE website down?
Sam Sloan

2005-08-02, 12:31 am

At 10:51 AM 8/1/2005 -0400, Monte Cahn wrote:
quote:

>
>Hello Sam,
>
>Thank you for your message. How did this theft take place? The previous
>history shows that this domain actually expired and was registered new by
>the current registrant before being transferred to Moniker. I fail to see
>how this domain was actually stolen as you claim....not that we could do
>something about a theft that occurred in 2001 within another registrar
>anyway.
>
>I will be happy to investigate this but need a lot more information about
>the details of your claim.
>
>Thank you.
>
>Monte Cahn
>
>Founder/CEO
>Monte@Moniker.com
>Monte@DomainSystems.com
>O - 954-984-8445
>F - 954-969-9155


Thank you for your prompt reply.

If you will go to http://www.deja.com/rec.games.chess.politics
and do a GoogleGroups search under rec.games.chess.politics for "One
of my domain names has been stolen" for the period August 3, 2001 to
August 7, 2001, you will see exactly what happened, as more than 70
articles were posted on this issue in those four days.

What happened was that I was three days late in renewing my domain
name registration. Mr. Chad Wright hijacked my name by registering it.
He did not register it through Network Solutions where I had
registered it. Instead he registered it through a no-name service,
mydomain.com. I discovered this only three days later and complained.

He then offered to sell me the name back, first for $50, then for $300
and later he raised the price to $35,000.

He then threatened to send the Oakland Hell's Angles after me. At that
time, my residence address was Berkeley California, so this was a
serious threat.

Date: Mon, 6 Aug 2001 14:51:20 -0700 (PDT)
From: Chad <cvmerchants@yahoo.com>
Subject: Re: You have stolen my domain name
To: Sam Sloan <sloan@ishipress.com>
X-Rcpt-To: sloan@ishipress.com


Im an ex Hells Angel for the Oakland Hills Chapter.


Are you sure you want to make those kind of threats?
If yes, then I will let my boys know.


Chad


After that and after I had complined to mydomain.com, he shifted the
registration to enom.com and then he called himself Sam "The Molester"
Sloan.

This is why I wrote that he was pretending to be me, as he was using
the name: Sam "The Molester" Sloan.

Since then, every year, he has shifted the registration to a new
registration service. I was hoping that this year he would drop it,
but obviously he did not.

Ishi Press is a well established and well known book publishing
company. We have published more than 100 books, mostly about the game
of go. We are incorporated in three jurisdictions: California,
Delaware and Tokyo Japan. Our main domain name is ishipress.com .
Obviously, ishius.com is the name of our USA branch. You can go into
any book store and they will have heard of Ishi Press.

I believe that there are laws against hijacking a well established
corporate name. Accordingly, I demand that the name be returned to
me.

Very Truly Yours,

Sam Sloan, President
The Ishi Press USA
[vbcol=seagreen]
>On Sat, 25 Jun 2005 22:04:38 +0100 Chadw
><Chadw.1r7...@news.chessbanter.com> wrote:
>

Copyright 2003 - 2009 gamesreviews.net Software forum  PC Hardware reviews